FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Jun. 29, 2023
SANTA FE – The New Mexico State Police has teamed up with the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) and the New Mexico Trucking Association (NMTA) to make drivers aware of required lane travel for tractor-trailers.
Beginning Saturday, July 1st, 2023, as per New Mexico Senate Bill 102, Section 1. 66-7-376 NMSA 1978, a truck tractor shall not be driven in the left lane of a roadway except under provisions as outlined by the bill. Failure to obey could result in a penalty assessment of two hundred fifty dollars ($250) for the first and second offenses and five hundred dollars ($500) for the third offense.
The New Mexico Trucking Association reminds all drivers that there is already active law to maintain travel in the right lane and this new legislation will focus on “Truck Tractors”. For further information, education, or questions regarding this new State Bill please contact NMTA at www.nmtrucking.org/contact
“One of the priorities of the New Mexico State Police is to keep our roadways safe for the general motoring public and commercial motor vehicle traffic,” said Troy Weisler, Chief of the New Mexico State Police. “We will continue to partner with NMDOT and the NMTA to accomplish that goal.”
The NMDOT will put official signage in place on New Mexico roadways within the next few months and law enforcement will begin enforcing these changes. Information on newly passed laws can be obtained at www.nmlegis.gov