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This is an amendment to 10.8.2 NMAC, Sections 7, 10 through 17, 21 through 24, 26, 27, 30, 31, and 32, 
effective XX/XX/2025. 
 
 
10.8.2.7  DEFINITIONS:  In addition to the definitions in Section 29-19-2 NMSA 1978, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise, as used in this rule: 
 A. act means the Concealed Handgun Carry Act, Sections 29-19-1 through 29-19-15 NMSA 1978; 
 B. approved instructor means a person to whom the department has issued a permit to provide all or 
any part of classroom and firing range instruction;  
 C. controlled substance means controlled substance as defined in the New Mexico Controlled 
Substances Act, Sections 30-31-4 et seq. NMSA 1978, or a similar act of any other jurisdiction; 
 D. conviction means an adjudication of guilt, and includes a guilty plea, judgment, or verdict, no 
contest, nolo contendere, conditional plea of guilty, or any other plea that would result in an adjudication of guilt in 
any court of competent jurisdiction.  A conviction includes a deferred sentence and a conditional discharge prior to 
satisfaction of the conditions and after satisfaction of conditions where required by the act; 
 E. court means any federal, state, county, municipal, or tribal court; 
 F. days means business days when the period referenced is 10 days or less, and calendar days when 
the period referenced is 11 days or more; 
 G. department means the New Mexico department of public safety; 
 H. instructor applicant means a person seeking a permit as an approved instructor; 
 I. mounted patrol  means a current member of the New Mexico mounted patrol who has 
successfully completed a law enforcement academy basic law enforcement training program for New Mexico 
mounted patrol members pursuant to Section 29-6-4.1 NMSA 1978; 
 J. military service person means a person who: 
  (1) is on active duty with the United States armed forces; 
  (2) is on reserve or guard duty with the United States armed forces; 
  (3) is a veteran or a retiree who received an honorable discharge as indicated on a United 
States department of defense form 214; or 
  (4) is his or her dependent. 
 K. peace officer means any public official or public officer vested by law with a duty to maintain 
public order or to make arrests for crimes, whether that duty extends to all crimes or is limited to specific crimes; 
 L. permit means the authorization granted by the department to teach firearms qualification courses 
as an approved instructor; 
 M. range qualification means the performance requirements that must be met by an applicant or 
licensee for his or her approved caliber of handgun; 
 N. reciprocity means permission granted for an out of state licenses issued to a person who is not a 
New Mexico resident to be used in the state of New Mexico by a licensee visiting or passing through the state; 
 O. resident means: 
  (1) a person who, for a period of not less than 90 days immediately preceding the date of 
application for the license, has been domiciled in New Mexico, does not claim residence elsewhere for any purpose, 
and is not otherwise entitled to claim residence in another state; or 
  (2) a person who is a member of the armed forces of the United States and permanently 
assigned to a military installation located within this state. A military person’s dependent may be considered a 
resident for the purposes of this rule. 
 P. respondent means, in the context of 10.8.2.27 NMAC, an applicant, instructor applicant, 
approved instructor, or licensee who responds to a department denial of their application seeking a hearing on a 
decision; 
 Q. retired peace officer means a New Mexico resident who has retired in good standing from any 
law enforcement agency with at least 15 years as a certified police officer or by work related disability; 
 R. revocation means the involuntary termination of a license or permit by the department for cause 
for an indefinite period of time; 
 S. secretary means the secretary of the department of public safety or his designee; 
 T. suspension means the involuntary termination of a license or permit by the department for cause 
for a specified period of time; 
 U. transfer means issuance of a permit in New Mexico under the act when the applicant holds a valid 
concealed carry permit or license issued by another state with which New Mexico has reciprocity, and the other 
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conditions prescribed in this rule have been satisfied. 
[10.8.2.7 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.7 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.10 DEPARTMENT-PRESCRIBED FORMS: 
 A. Use required.  The department has prescribed forms to carry out certain requirements of this rule.  
The most current version of a department form must be used when a form exists for that purpose, unless the 
department waives this requirement. 
 B. How to obtain.  Department-prescribed forms may be obtained: 
  (1) at New Mexico state police offices throughout the state; [or]  
  (2) from the department's website at [www.dps.state.nm.org] www.dps.nm.gov; or 
  (3) from the concealed carry unit, located in Albuquerque, NM. 
[10.8.2.10 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.10 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.11 APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR A LICENSE: 
 A. Filing.  An applicant must file an application for a license with the department in person [or] by 
mail or online at dps.nm.gov. 
 B. Fees.  All fees are non-refundable and are required by the act or this rule to be paid to the 
department and shall be in the form of [ cash,] credit card, a personal check, cashier’s check, certified check, or 
money order made payable to the New Mexico department of public safety. 
 C. Completeness.  All applications must be complete and legible. 
  (1) If an application is incomplete, the department will [return the application and a letter 
outlining the deficiencies in the application to the applicant by regular mail] notify the applicant and outline 
deficiencies in the application.  The applicant will have 45 days from the date of written notification [the letter is 
postmarked] to cure the deficiencies.  If the applicant fails to [return the] remedy the deficiencies of their application 
[to] with the department within 45 days from the date [the letter was postmarked] of written notification, the 
application will be deemed abandoned, the application file will be closed, and all fees paid will be forfeited to the 
state.  The department will [send a letter notifying] notify the applicant in writing that the application has been 
deemed abandoned, the file has been closed, and all fees paid have been forfeited to the state. 
  (2) If the applicant [returns] submits corrections to the application to the department within 
45 days from the date of the initial [letter was postmarked] notification, but the application is still deficient, the 
department will [return the application and] notify the applicant in writing a second [letter] time outlining the 
deficiencies in the application [to the applicant by regular mail].  The applicant will have 30 days from the date the 
second [letter is postmarked] written notification to cure the deficiencies.  If the applicant fails to [return] correct the 
deficiencies in the application and submit them to the department within 30 days from the date of the second [letter 
was postmarked, or returns] written notification, but the application [but it] is still deficient, the application will be 
deemed abandoned, the application file will be closed, and all fees paid will be forfeited to the state.  The 
department will send a letter notifying the applicant that the application has been deemed abandoned, the file has 
been closed, and all fees paid have been forfeited to the state. 
  (3) An applicant may contact the concealed carry unit to inquire about the status of his or her 
application. Agents may provide the information to the applicant after the applicant has supplied sufficient 
identifiers such as address, social security number, date of birth, etc. 
[10.8.2.11 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.11 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.12 OTHER REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR A LICENSE:  In addition to the application form, 
each applicant shall submit copies of other documents required by the act or this rule to the department as set forth 
below.  The copies must clearly show the name of the applicant and all signatures and pertinent information.  The 
department will not accept copies that are too dark, too light, blurry, or otherwise unreadable.  An applicant may 
request the return of original documents by so stating and enclosing a self-addressed stamped envelope. 
 A. Proof of residency. 
  (1) An applicant may prove residency in New Mexico by submitting a copy of a valid New 
Mexico driver's license or personal identification card issued by the motor vehicle division of the taxation and 
revenue department [and] or the following: 
   [(a) proof that the applicant is registered to vote in New Mexico;] 
   [(b) a state or government issued license with name and address;] 
   [(c)] (a) a United States armed forces identification card and orders of permanent duty 
station in New Mexico or a U.S. armed forces dependent ID card and orders of the individual claiming the applicant 
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as a dependent; or  
   [(d)](b)  other proof acceptable to the department. 
  (2) Possession by an applicant of a driver's license issued by another state shall create a 
rebuttable presumption of residency in such other state. 
 B. Proof of age.  An applicant may prove that [he or she is] they are 21 or more years of age by 
filing: 
  (1) a copy of a valid government-issued identification card stating the [person's] applicant’s 
age; 
  (2) a copy of [a] the applicant’s passport; or 
  (3) a certified copy of [his or her] the applicant’s birth certificate. 
 C. Proof of handgun competency.  An applicant must submit a certified copy of a certificate of 
completion for a firearms training course which is approved by the department and issued by an approved instructor. 
It must be submitted not more than 90 days prior to the date the application is submitted, as required by 10.8.2.15 
NMAC. 
 D. Proof of disposition of charges.  The burden of proof is on the applicant or licensee to show that 
the applicant or licensee has a pending or successful completion of any conditional discharge, or that the conviction 
of any charge has been overturned on appeal. Documentation sufficient to prove the applicant’s or licensee’s 
contention related to a conviction or discharge must be provided by the applicant or licensee to the department. 
 E. Photographs.  To streamline the application process, the department may obtain digital color 
photographs of an applicant from the motor vehicle division of the taxation and revenue department or another 
government agency. If the department requests an applicant to provide photographs pursuant to Paragraph (5) of 
Subsection B of Section 29-19-5 NMSA 1978, the photographs shall be in color, be a minimum of [three] two 
inches by [three] two inches and be a full frontal view of the applicant without hat, sunglasses, or any other item that 
would obstruct or alter the features of the applicant. The department will not accept photographs that are too dark, 
too bright, fuzzy, [or ] out of focus, or unclear. 
 F. Fingerprints.  All [new ] applicants shall submit electronic fingerprints via the department 
standards that comply with the requirements of Section 29-19-5 NMSA 1978 and 10.8.2.14 NMAC. [Applicants 
who have electronic fingerprints on file shall not be required to resubmit fingerprints.] 
 G. Application fee.  An applicant shall submit a non-refundable application fee of $100 for new 
applications and $75 for renewal applications. Current and retired [law enforcement officers] peace officers, 
military, and mounted patrol officers are exempt from this fee. 
[10.8.2.12 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.12 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A/E, 5/22/2025, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.13 LICENSE APPLICATION REVIEW AND ISSUANCE: 
 A. Time period for review.  In accordance with Subsection A of Section 29-19-6 NMSA 1978, the 
department shall review the application, conduct a national criminal background check of each applicant, and make 
a determination within thirty (30) days of the date the department receives a complete application and background 
check. 
 B. Determination by department. 
  (1) Approval.  If the department finds that the applicant meets the requirements in the act 
and this rule for issuance of a license, the department shall issue a license. 
  (2) Denial.  If the department finds that the applicant does not meet the requirements for 
issuance of a license, the department shall issue a notification of denial in accordance with 10.8.2.21 NMAC. The 
notification of denial shall cite requirement(s) of the act or this rule that the applicant has failed to meet. 
 C. Information on license.  In addition to the information required by Subsection C of Section 29-
19-6 NMSA 1978, a license to carry a concealed handgun may include: 
  (1) a physical description of the licensee, including the licensee’s sex, hair color, eye color, 
height, and weight; 
  (2) the state seal; 
  (3) instructions to the licensee; and 
  (4) other information as determined by the department. 
 D. Term of license.  Original and renewed licenses are effective [for four years ] from the date of 
issuance by the department.  Civilian licenses are issued for a period of four years.  Military and law enforcement 
licenses are issued for five-year periods.  Replacement licenses and licenses that have been endorsed to add another 
category or highest caliber of handgun shall expire on the date the replaced license would have expired. 
 E. Dual licenses prohibited.  A licensee [may] shall not [own or] possess more than one New 
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Mexico license to carry a concealed handgun.  A license to carry a concealed handgun shall indicate all categories 
and highest calibers of handguns the licensee is authorized to carry concealed in New Mexico. 
[10.8.2.13 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.13 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.14 FINGERPRINTING OF APPLICANTS:  All applicants shall submit electronic fingerprints. 
The department may refuse to accept fingerprints it determines are not legible and classifiable.  New fingerprints 
must be submitted with each new application and renewal application. 
 A. Responsibilities of applicant.  The applicant must present a valid government-issued 
photographic identification card.  The applicant must submit their concealed carry license application within 30 days 
of being fingerprinted. 
 B. Responsibilities of person recording the fingerprints.  The person who records the applicant’s 
fingerprints shall verify that the government-issued photographic identification card is of the person being 
fingerprinted. 
[10.8.2.14 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.14 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A/E, 5/22/2025, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.15 FIREARMS TRAINING FOR APPLICANTS AND LICENSEES: 
 A. [All] New Mexico [residents] resident applicants must attend a department approved firearms 
training course taught by a department approved instructor unless [he or she received the license by transfer of an 
out of state license] the applicant is on active military status, a military veteran who is within 20 years of separation 
from the military, an active peace officer, or a peace officer who is less than 10 years separated from a law 
enforcement agency. 
  (1) [An applicant] Civilian applicants, military veterans with honorable discharge who are 
separated 20 plus years from the military, or retired peace officers separated more than 10 years from a law 
enforcement agency seeking a license shall satisfactorily complete an initial firearms training course approved by 
the department that includes at least 15 hours of classroom and firing range instruction as specified in Subsection 
(A) of Section 29-19-7 NMSA 1978 except: 
   (a) a department approved instructor; 
   (b) a current [law enforcement] peace officer; 
   (c) a retired [law enforcement] peace officer who has been retired 10 years or less at 
[the] time of application; 
   (d) active military personnel; 
   (e) military service persons who have been discharged within 20 years prior to the 
time of application; or 
   (f) mounted patrol members who have successfully completed a law enforcement 
training program for New Mexico mounted patrol. 
  (2) Two years after the issuance of an initial license, a licensee shall complete a refresher 
course which consists of [either] range qualification of [his or her] the licensee’s approved caliber of handgun [or an 
online training course of instruction approved by the department], except as listed in Subsection A of 10.8.2.15 
NMAC. 
  (3) [Four years after the issuance of an initial license, a] A licensee seeking renewal of a 
license shall satisfactorily complete a [refresher] four-hour renewal firearms training course approved by the 
department that includes at least four (4) hours of classroom and firing range instruction as specified in Subsection 
A of Section 29-19-7 NMSA 1978, except as listed in Subsection A of 10.8.2.15 NMAC. 
  (4) The department may suspend a license if the licensee does not comply with the 
[refresher] four-hour renewal course requirements.  Upon compliance, the licensee shall submit a $5 reinstatement 
fee. 
 B. Competency demonstration. 
  (1) An applicant or licensee shall demonstrate competency in the safe use of each category 
and highest caliber of handgun for which he or she seeks certification by firing the handgun with live ammunition at 
a target no larger than 12 inches wide and 18 inches high. 
  (2) An applicant or licensee shall fire 15 rounds from three yards and 10 rounds from seven 
yards. 
  (3) An applicant or licensee shall score four points for each shot that hits within the scoring 
line and zero points for each shot that hits outside the scoring line.  An applicant must obtain a score of seventy-two 
percent of the total score to pass the competency demonstration. 
 C. Determination of competency.  An approved instructor shall determine whether or not an 
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applicant is to be issued a certificate of completion based on the applicant’s or licensee’s score on the competency 
demonstration and the applicant’s or licensee’s knowledge and understanding of the subjects specified in the act. 
 D. Certificates of completion.  An approved instructor shall issue a certificate of completion to each 
applicant who demonstrates competency in the safe use of the categories and calibers of handguns for which he or 
she seeks licensure as prescribed in Subsections B and C of this section.  The certificate of completion shall include 
the name and date of birth of the applicant, the printed name and signature of the approved instructor who scored the 
competency demonstration, the date the applicant completed the firearms training course, all categories and calibers 
of handguns for which the applicant demonstrated competency, and a unique number consisting of the instructor 
number assigned by the department and a sequential number that corresponds with the order in which the instructor 
has issued certificates.  Instructors may deny certificates of completion to students who have demonstrated unsafe 
handgun handling practices or who have demonstrated adverse behavior during the training course or on the firing 
range. 
[10.8.2.15 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.15 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.16 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF LICENSE: 
 A. Carrying only handguns listed on license.  No person shall carry a concealed handgun of a 
different category or higher caliber than is indicated on the license issued to that person by the department. A 
licensee shall only carry one concealed handgun at any given time. 
 B. Consumption of alcohol prohibited.  No person shall consume alcohol while carrying a 
concealed handgun. 
 C. Carrying while impaired.  No person shall carry a concealed handgun while impaired by the use 
of alcohol, controlled substances including cannabis, or over-the-counter or prescribed medications. 
 D. Display of license on demand.  A licensee carrying a concealed handgun on or about his person 
in public shall, upon demand by a peace officer, display [his] their valid license to carry a concealed handgun. 
 E. Prohibited acts.  A licensee shall not deface, alter, mutilate, reproduce, lend, transfer, or sell a 
license.  A licensee shall adhere to Section 30-7-4 NMSA 1978 as it pertains to negligent use of a deadly weapon. 
 F. Carrying prohibited on private property.  In addition to other limitations stated in the act, a 
licensee [may] shall not carry a concealed handgun on or about his person on private property that has signs posted 
prohibiting the carrying of concealed weapons or when verbally told so by a person lawfully in possession of the 
property. 
 G. Carrying prohibited in preschools.  No licensee shall carry a concealed handgun on the premises 
of a preschool that provides care to infants, toddlers, and children aged five and younger, which includes child care 
facilities, home-based or center-based, and whether or not the facility is licensed, registered, or regulated. 
 H. Schools.  Carrying of a deadly weapon on school premises is prohibited except as allowed by the 
law. 
 I. University.  Carrying of a firearm on university premises is prohibited except as allowed by the 
law. 
 J. Liquor establishments. Carrying of a firearm in an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic 
beverages is prohibited except as allowed by the law. 
 K. Indicia of licensure.  Only a [law enforcement officer] peace officer [may]shall carry a badge, 
patch, card, or any other indication of authority to carry a concealed handgun in New Mexico other than the license 
issued by the department or a license issued by a state that has been accepted by reciprocity by New Mexico 
pursuant to the act. 
 L. Notice of change in circumstances.  A licensee shall, within 10 days, both notify the department 
in writing and return the license to it within 10 days upon the occurrence of any of the following: 
  (1) adjudication of mental incompetence has been entered or issued against the licensee; 
  (2) the licensee has been committed to a facility for the treatment of mental illness; 
  (3) the licensee has been committed to a facility for treatment of addiction to alcohol, 
controlled substances, or other drugs; 
  (4) an order of protection has been issued by a court against the licensee; 
  (5) an indictment or criminal information for [or charge with] a felony criminal offense or a 
criminal complaint for a disqualifying misdemeanor offense described in Subsection B of Section 29-19-4 NMSA 
1978 has been issued against the licensee; 
  (6) is no longer a full-time salaried [law enforcement officer] peace officer; or 
  (7) the licensee is other than honorably discharged from the military. 
[10.8.2.16 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.16 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
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10.8.2.17 LICENSE RENEWAL AND TRANSFER: 
 A. To renew a New Mexico license.  A licensee may submit an application for a renewed license 
[on] in the [form] manner prescribed by the department. 
  (1) The licensee may submit the application anytime from 60 days before[, and] until 60 days 
after the license expires.  If the license has expired, a licensee shall not carry a concealed handgun until he or she 
receives a renewed license. 
  (2) The licensee shall complete a [refresher] four-hour firearms training course prior to filing 
the application, unless exempt. 
  (3) The licensee shall submit to the department: 
   (a) electronic fingerprints as required by Section 29-19-5 NMSA 1978 and 
10.8.2.14 NMAC[, unless electronic fingerprints are already on file with the department].  New fingerprints must be 
submitted with each renewal application; 
   (b) a certified copy of a certificate of completion for a [refresher]four-hour firearms 
training course approved by the department issued by an approved instructor not more than 90 days prior to the date 
the application is filed; 
   (c) a nonrefundable $75 renewal fee; and 
   (d) a copy of New Mexico driver’s license or other government issued identification 
which contains a picture. 
 B. To transfer a license from another state.  A person establishing New Mexico residency must 
transfer his or her license from another state.  The license holder has 90 days from establishing New Mexico 
residency to file an application for a New Mexico renewed license on the form prescribed by the department.  An 
applicant for transfer shall not carry a concealed handgun in New Mexico until the applicant receives a New Mexico 
license unless he or she has a license from a state that has been accepted by reciprocity by New Mexico. 
  (1) In addition to the items required by Paragraph (3) of Subsection A of this section, the 
applicant for license transfer shall file: 
   (a) proof of residency as provided in Subsection A of 10.8.2.12 NMAC; 
   (b) proof of age as provided in Subsection B of 10.8.2.12 NMAC; and 
   (c) a photocopy of the license being transferred. 
  (2) The applicant for transfer shall complete: 
   (a) a [refresher] four-hour firearms training course if the firearms training required 
by the other state meets or exceeds New Mexico firearms training requirements and the licensee completed firearms 
training not more than one year prior to filing the application; or 
   (b) an initial firearms training course if the firearms training required by the other 
state does not meet New Mexico firearms training requirements or the licensee completed firearms training more 
than [one year] 180-days prior to filing the application. 
  (3) The applicant for transfer must meet all other requirements for obtaining a license in New 
Mexico by showing either that: 
   (a) the requirements for licensure in the other state meet or exceed the requirements 
for issuance of a license in New Mexico; or 
   (b) the applicant has satisfactorily completed the requirements for issuance of a 
license in New Mexico that were not applicable in the other state. 
 C. Time period for review.  The department shall review the application for a renewed license, 
conduct a national criminal background check for each applicant for a renewed license or transfer of a license from 
another state, and make a determination within 30 days of the date the department receives a complete application 
and background check. 
 D. Determination by department. 
  (1) Approval.  If the department finds that the applicant for a renewed license or transfer of 
a license from another state meets the requirements in the act and this rule for a renewed license, the department 
shall issue a license. 
  (2) Denial.  If the department finds that the applicant does not meet the requirements for a 
renewed license or transfer of a license from another state, the department shall issue a notification of denial in 
accordance with 10.8.2.21 NMAC. The notification of denial shall cite the particular requirements of the act or this 
rule that the applicant has failed to meet. 
[10.8.2.17 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.17 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A/E, 5/22/2025, A, XX/XX/2025] 
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10.8.2.21 DENIAL, SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION OF A LICENSE: 
 A. Grounds.  The department may deny, suspend or revoke a license if the licensee: 
  (1) is found to have violated any provision of the act or this rule; 
  (2) is a fugitive from justice, in accordance with Paragraph (4) of Subsection A of Section 
29-19-4NMSA 1978; 
  (3) is convicted of a felony, in accordance with Paragraph (5) of Subsection A of Section 29-
19-4 NMSA 1978, including a conditional discharge until discharged, a diversion until its terms are completed, a 
deferment, a guilty plea, a plea of nolo contendere, or Alford plea; 
  (4) is currently under indictment, or charged by criminal information [cited, or summoned to 
Court] to answer for a felony criminal offense, in accordance with Paragraph (6) of Subsection A of Section 29-19-4 
NMSA 1978; 
  (5) is prohibited by law from purchasing or possessing a firearm, in accordance with 
Paragraph (7) of Subsection A of Section 29-19-4 NMSA 1978 or any federal database or law; 
  (6) is adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution, in accordance 
with Paragraph (8) of Subsection A of Section 29-19-4 NMSA 1978; 
  (7) is addicted to alcohol or controlled substances, in accordance with Paragraph (9) of 
Subsection A of Section 29-19-4 NMSA1978; 
  (8) receives a conditional discharge, a diversion or a deferment or is convicted of, pleads 
guilty to or enters a plea of nolo contendere to a misdemeanor offense involving a crime of violence within 10 years 
immediately preceding the application, in accordance with Paragraph (1) of Subsection (B) of Section 29-19-4 
NMSA 1978, other than crimes of violence that are offenses of assault or assault against a household member, 
battery or battery against a household member discussed in Paragraph (11) of Subsection A of 10.8.2.21 NMAC; 
  (9) is convicted of a misdemeanor offense of driving while under the influence of 
intoxicating liquor or drugs within five years immediately preceding the application, in accordance with Paragraph 
(2) of Subsection B of Section 29-19-4 NMSA 1978; 
  (10) is convicted of a misdemeanor offense of the possession or abuse of a controlled 
substance within 10 years immediately preceding the application, in accordance with Paragraph (3) of Subsection B 
of Section 29-19-4 NMSA 1978; 
  (11) is convicted of a misdemeanor offense of assault or assault against a household member, 
battery or battery against a household member, in accordance with Paragraph (4) of Subsection B of Section 29-19-4 
NMSA 1978; or  
  (12) is subject to a valid protective order issued by a court. 
 B. Affidavit of violation by a licensee.  If a peace officer believes there is probable cause to suspend 
or revoke a license, the peace officer shall prepare an affidavit on a form prescribed by the department.  The 
affidavit shall cite the provision of law that was violated.  The peace officer shall file the affidavit and any other 
reports or information relating to the licensee available to the officer with the department within 10 days of the date 
the peace officer learns of the violation.  A police report may be submitted in lieu of the affidavit. 
 C. Notice of suspension or revocation and surrender of license.  The department shall review the 
affidavit and attachments, and, if the department finds probable cause to suspend or revoke the license, [may] shall 
issue a notification of the suspension or revocation to the licensee advising the licensee of his or her right to a 
hearing in accordance with 10.8.2.27 NMAC.  If the licensee elects not to request a hearing, the licensee shall 
surrender [his or her] their license to the department within 15 days of the expiration of the period allowed to request 
a hearing. 
 D. Term of suspension or revocation and reapplication. 
  (1) The department [may] shall suspend a license [when] while the outcome of a 
disqualifying matter is pending.  Suspended licenses may be reinstated when suspension was due to a rule violation, 
from an arrest/charge and the final court disposition shows no conviction.  A two-page application, with final 
disposition and $25 fee must be submitted; additional training not required.  The licensee may file an application to 
reapply for concealed carry license [renew the license] upon expiration of the term of suspension with submittal of a 
new application. 
  (2) The department may revoke a license for a period required by the law up to and including 
a lifetime revocation.  The person will not be eligible for a new license until the revocation period required by law 
has passed, if ever. 
  (3) The license of a current [law enforcement officer] peace officer shall expire on the date 
the officer leaves employment unless the officer provides the department with written proof of hiring by another law 
enforcement agency in New Mexico. 
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[10.8.2.21 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.21 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.22 DEPARTMENT APPROVAL OF INSTRUCTORS AND FIREARMS TRAINING 
COURSES: 
 A. Application required.  Any person seeking to instruct firearms training courses pursuant to this 
rule shall file an application with the department to become an approved instructor.  Application shall be made on 
the form prescribed by the department and shall be typewritten or legibly handwritten in ink.  A person who is not 
an approved instructor [may] shall not instruct a firearms training course pursuant to this rule. 
 B. Requirements for approval.  In order to be approved as an instructor, an instructor applicant 
must: 
  (1) agree to be subject to New Mexico jurisdiction for the purpose of enforcing the act and 
this rule; 
  (2) submit a resume of experience instructing firearms training courses, handgun experience, 
or both; 
  (3) submit electronic fingerprints that comply with the requirements in Section 29-19-5 
NMSA 1978 and 10.8.2.14 NMAC for positive identification purposes.  New fingerprints must be submitted with 
each application and renewal application; 
  (4) submit an authorization for release of information form provided by the department; 
  (5) submit an affidavit or cover page of an acceptable firearms instruction insurance policy; 
  (6) submit to the department the curriculum and course materials, meeting the department’s 
core requirements, for a firearms training course that has been certified or sponsored by a federal or state law 
enforcement agency, an accredited college or university, a firearms training school or a nationally recognized 
organization approved by the department that customarily offers firearms training, and a copy of the letter or other 
document approving the course from the certifying or sponsoring entity. An instructor applicant may develop his 
own curriculum and materials but must have them certified or sponsored by one of the entities identified in 
Subsection A of Section 29-19-7 NMSA 1978; 
  (7) The instructor applicant must submit to the department a list of all persons the instructor 
applicant proposes to engage in any training aspect of the concealed carry weapons class at least 10 days prior to the 
first class, including the individual’s name, date of birth, social security number, and concealed carry license 
number, if applicable; 
  (8) provide a description of the instructor applicant’s experience in offering firearms 
training; if any. An instructor-applicant who wishes to conduct firing range instruction must possess a certificate of 
completion of a firearms instructor-training program approved by the department that was issued or renewed not 
more than [three] four years prior to the date the application is filed; 
  (9) be a currently certified law enforcement instructor employed by a law enforcement 
agency; or 
  (10) be 21 years of age and agree to be responsible for the actions and omissions of all persons 
engaged by the approved instructor for the purpose of conducting firearms training courses pursuant to this rule. 
 C. Time period for review.  As prescribed in Subsection A of Section 29-19-6 NMSA 1978, the 
department shall review the application of each instructor applicant and make a determination within 30 days of the 
date the department receives a complete application and background check. 
 D. Determination by the department. 
  (1) Approval. 
   (a) Instructor.  If the department finds that the instructor applicant meets the 
requirements specified in Subsection B of this section, the department shall issue a concealed carry weapon 
instructor permit that shall be valid for four years.  The concealed carry weapon instructor permit shall include the 
approved instructor’s name, [business address, and date of birth,] the expiration date of the permit, and the instructor 
number assigned by the department. 
   (b) Curriculum.  If the department finds that the proposed curriculum and course 
materials for the firearms training course meet the requirements of Section 29-19-7 NMSA 1978 and this rule, the 
department shall approve the proposed firearms training course in writing.  The department’s approval shall remain 
in effect for the shortest of: 
    (i) one year; 
    (ii) until the approved instructor substantially changes the curriculum or 
course materials; or 
    (iii) the requirements in the act or this rule are changed. 
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  (2) Denial.  If the department finds either that the instructor applicant or the proposed 
firearms training course does not meet the requirements of Section 29-19-7 NMSA 1978 or this rule, the department 
shall issue a notification of denial.  The notification of denial shall cite the particular requirements of the act or this 
rule that the instructor applicant or proposed firearm training course has failed to meet. 
 E. Renewal.  An approved instructor seeking to renew his or her permit shall file with the department 
at least 60 days before the date his or her permit expires: 
  (1) an application for renewal on the form prescribed by the department; 
  (2) the curriculum and course materials for a firearms training course that is certified or 
sponsored by a federal or state law enforcement agency, an accredited college or university, a firearms training 
school, or a nationally recognized organization approved by the department that customarily offers firearms training 
and a copy of the letter or other document approving the course from the certifying or sponsoring entity; and 
  (3) a list of all persons the instructor applicant intends to engage in any training aspect of 
conducting a concealed carry weapons class. 
 F. No authority to carry.  An approved instructor is not authorized to carry a concealed handgun 
unless the approved instructor obtains a license from the department pursuant to Section 29-19-4 NMSA 1978 of the 
act and this rule.  If an instructor applicant wishes to apply for a concealed carry license at the same time he or she 
applies for an instructor’s permit, he or she [may] shall do so by [checking the appropriate boxes on the instructor 
application form] submitting a concealed carry application, complying with all requirements for a license in the act 
and this rule, and enclosing the license application fee and all documents required by this rule with the application 
for an instructor’s certificate. 
 G. List of approved instructors.  The department shall maintain and make available to the public a 
list of approved instructors.  An approved instructor may request to be removed from the list but shall remain subject 
to a request for inspection of public records pursuant to Chapter 14, Article 2 NMSA 1978. 
[10.8.2.22 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.23 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A/E, 5/22/2025, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.23 BACKGROUND INVESTIGATIONS OF APPLICANTS AND INSTRUCTOR 
APPLICANTS: The department shall conduct a state and national criminal background check, and a court records 
check for protective orders, of each applicant for an original, transferred or renewed license.  The department shall 
conduct a state and national criminal background check, and a court records check for protective orders, for each 
instructor applicant for an original or renewed instructor’s permit.  The department may require certain applicants to 
provide information or execute documents to enable the department to obtain criminal history records of disposition 
of charges.  The department [may] shall conduct such other investigation of an applicant as the department deems 
necessary to determine an applicant's suitability for a license or instructor’s permit. 
[10.8.2.23 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.23 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.24 RESPONSIBILITIES OF APPROVED INSTRUCTORS: 
 A. Minimum standards for instruction.  An approved instructor shall: 
  (1) engage as instructors only those persons who have been issued a permit by the 
department, except as provided in Subsection C of this section; 
  (2) have no more students in the classroom or on an indoor firing range than the maximum 
occupancy allowed by the state or local fire code; 
  (3) use classroom facilities that comply with all federal, state, and local laws relating to 
persons with disabilities, public health, safety, and sanitation, including restroom facilities; 
  (4) use only the curriculum, course materials, handouts, and videos approved by the 
department; 
  (5) display the permit issued by the department in an appropriate and visible location; 
  (6) not permit a student to begin a firearms training course until the student has received 
written information stating all fees, including incidental costs, charged for the course, policies for passing and 
failing, refund and reschedule policies, and attendance requirements. 
 B. Minimum standards for firing range instruction.  An approved instructor shall: 
  (1) not allow a student to participate in firing range instruction until the student has 
completed the classroom portion of the firearms training that covers safe handgun shooting fundamentals; 
  (2) conduct firing range instruction under various light conditions when possible; 
  (3) have no more students firing a handgun on the firing range than the instructor can 
effectively and safely instruct and monitor, including no more than five students per instructor during daylight 
training, no more than three students per instructor for lowlight training, and no more than one student per instructor 
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for dynamic training such as shooting on the move. 
 C. Guest instructors. 
  (1) An approved instructor may use guest instructors who are [on the department approved 
instructor list] qualified to teach various parts of a firearms training course, but only with written approval of the 
department. An approved instructor must file a request for approval to use a guest instructor at least 10 days prior to 
the date the guest instructor will teach for the first time.  The department will conduct background investigations of 
guest instructors. 
  (2) no guest instructor shall teach the approved instructor’s entire firearms training course. 
  (3) An approved instructor shall maintain a file on each guest instructor who teaches any 
portion of the firearms training course.  The file shall include a list of the dates and portions of the course each guest 
instructor has taught, and appropriate documents showing the education, experience, licenses or certifications that 
qualify the guest instructor to teach the portions of the course he or she has taught. 
 D. Monitoring by the department.  The department may monitor all aspects of firearms training 
courses.  Approved instructors shall cooperate with department employees in [its] their efforts to monitor the 
training of applicants. 
  (1) Should a department employee determine that an instructor is not compliant with these 
rules or is placing [his or her] their students in danger, the employee shall have the authority to end the class.  The 
employee shall obtain the approved instructor’s permit, make a written report and submit both to the secretary.  The 
approved instructor may then file an appeal pursuant to the act and these rules. 
  (2) Failure to adhere to any provisions of Subsection D, these rules, or the act shall be 
grounds for temporary or permanent loss of an instructor’s permit. 
 E. After action reports (AAR).  An approved instructor shall file the following information with the 
department within 10 days after the end of each firearms training course on the form prescribed by the department: 
  (1) the name, address, and date of birth of each applicant who attended the course; 
  (2) the score each applicant achieved in the handgun competency demonstration; 
  (3) the category and highest caliber of each handgun for which the applicant demonstrated 
competency; and 
  (4) whether or not the approved instructor issued a certificate of completion and each 
category and caliber for which each applicant’s certificate was issued. 
 F. Records.  An approved instructor shall maintain the records required by this subsection for a 
period of five years from the date of completion of each firearms training course.  The records shall be stored in a 
safe and secure place and shall be available for inspection by the department promptly upon request.  An approved 
instructor shall maintain: 
  (1) a record of each handgun competency certificate issued; 
  (2) a record of the following information for each course: 
   (a) name, address, and date of birth of each applicant who attended the course; 
   (b) the score the applicant achieved in the handgun competency demonstration; 
   (c) the category and caliber, of each handgun for which the applicant demonstrated 
competency; and 
   (d) an indication of whether or not the approved instructor issued a certificate of 
completion to that person; 
  (3) a record of the dates and number of hours of each firearms training course; 
  (4) a record of the curriculum and course materials used in each course; and 
  (5) copies of documents and correspondence filed with the department. 
[10.8.2.24 NMAC – Rp, 10.8.2.24 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.26 SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION OF AN INSTRUCTOR PERMIT: 
 A. Grounds.  The department may suspend or revoke a permit if the approved instructor: 
  (1) is the subject of valid complaints from applicants, licensees, or other approved 
instructors;  
  (2) violates any of the grounds stated in Subsection A of 10.8.2.21 NMAC with respect to a 
license; 
  (3) violates any provision of the act or these rules; or 
  (4) fails to improve after having been sanctioned. 
 B. Notice of suspension or revocation and surrender of instructor permit.  The department shall 
investigate all allegations concerning grounds for suspension or revocations of permits.  If the department finds there 
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is a preponderance of evidence supporting the complaint, and there exists cause to suspend or revoke the permit, the 
department [may] shall issue a notification of suspension or revocation of the permit to the approved instructor[,] 
and [advising] advise the approved instructor of [his or her] their right to a hearing in accordance with 10.8.2.26 
NMAC.  If the approved instructor elects not to request a hearing, the approved instructor shall surrender [his or her] 
their permit to the department within 15 days of the expiration of the period for requesting a hearing and shall cease 
offering firearms training courses pursuant to this rule. 
 C. Immediate suspension of firearms training course and refund of tuition. 
  (1) The department may immediately suspend, without notice or a prior hearing, a firearms 
training course whenever the department finds that the person teaching the course: 
   (a) is not an approved instructor; 
   (b) is impaired by the use of alcohol, controlled substances, or over-the-counter or 
prescribed medications;  
   (c) has committed a misdemeanor or felony under the New Mexico criminal code or 
law of another jurisdiction; or 
   (d) is teaching something that is contrary to law or accepted safety practices. 
  (2) The approved instructor shall be given the opportunity to request a hearing before the 
department pursuant to 10.8.2.26 NMAC. 
  (3) If the department finds, after notice and a hearing, that the person teaching the course was 
not an approved instructor, was impaired, has committed a misdemeanor or felony under the criminal code, or was 
teaching something contrary to law or accepted safety practices, the department may order the person to refund to 
every student in the class the person was teaching any fees paid by the student to take the class.  If the department 
finds that all or any portion of the firearms training course was deficient because the instructor was not an approved 
instructor, was impaired, has committed a misdemeanor or felony under the criminal code, or was teaching 
something contrary to law or safety, the department may require the students in that class to retake the portions that 
were deficient.  The department may also initiate proceedings to suspend or revoke the approved instructor’s permit. 
 D. Term of suspension or revocation and reapplication. 
  (1) The department [may] shall suspend a permit for up to one year while the outcome of a 
disqualifying matter is pending.  The approved instructor may file an application to renew the permit upon 
expiration of the term of suspension. 
  (2) The department may revoke a permit for a period required by law up to and including a 
lifetime revocation.  The instructor whose permit is revoked will not be eligible for a new permit until the revocation 
period required by law has passed, if ever. 
[10.8.2.26 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.25 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.27 HEARING PROCEDURES: 
 A. Written notice required.  The department shall mail a notification of the decision to deny, 
suspend, or revoke a permit and instructions for requesting a hearing to the respondent in accordance with 
Subsection B of 10.8.2.8 NMAC.  The notice shall become final on the 30th day after the date the notice was 
postmarked unless the department receives a request for a hearing, or the notice is returned to the department as 
undeliverable, before that date, in which case it is immediately final.  A notice becoming final is not considered a 
final order for purposes of an appeal in Subsection P of 10.8.2.27 NMAC; by the filing of a petition for a writ of 
certiorari, pursuant to Rule 1-075 NMRA. 
 B. Request for hearing.  A respondent who seeks reconsideration of a notification of denial, 
suspension, or revocation shall file a request for hearing.  The request for hearing shall: 
  (1) be in writing; 
  (2) be received by the department within 30 days from the date on the notification; 
  (3) state with specificity the basis for challenging the notification; and 
  (4) provide any additional documentation to support the challenge. 
 C. Hearing date.  Within 30 days of receipt of a timely request for hearing, the department shall mail 
a notice of hearing to the respondent.  The hearing shall be held within a reasonable period of time, but within 180 
days from the date the department receives request for the hearing. The department may extend the time for a 
hearing one time for up to an additional 60 days upon its own discretion.  The department shall not unreasonably 
deny a request for postponement of the hearing made by a respondent when good cause exists for the request. 
 D. Contents of notice.  The notice shall include: 
  (1) the date, time, place, and nature of the hearing; 
  (2) a statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction pursuant to which the hearing is being 
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held; 
  (3) reference to the section(s) of the act or this rule that were cited as the basis for the denial, 
suspension, or revocation; 
  (4) a general statement of the matters or issues involved; [and] 
  (5) a statement of the rights specified in Subsection I of this section; 
  (6) notice that exhibits from the respondent must be submitted to the department at least 48 
hours before the scheduled hearing; 
  (7) notice that respondents represented by counsel must be submitted to the department at 
least 24 hours prior the scheduled hearing; 
  (8) notice that all communications by respondents represented by an attorney with the 
department shall be made through respondent’s attorney or a person appearing pro se during and following the 
hearing, unless otherwise provided for by the hearing examiner; 
  (9) notice that for respondents represented by an attorney during and after the hearing, 
routine procedural questions may be addressed to the department by respondents directly. However, other questions 
from respondents must be made by their attorney unless the respondent signs a waiver or their attorney sends the 
department written communication authorizing the respondent to communicate directly with the department; and 
  (10) instructions on how to request ADA accommodations, which must be requested at least 
10 business days in advance of the hearing. 
 E. Nature of hearing.  The hearing shall be conducted in an informal manner.  The hearing 
[may]shall be conducted in person or by telephone conference call, video conferencing, or other appropriate 
technology. 
 F. Hearing examiner.  The department shall designate a hearing examiner who shall conduct the 
proceedings and perform all acts and take all measures necessary or proper for the efficient conduct of the hearing.  
The hearing examiner may: 
  (1) administer oaths; 
  (2) issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses and the production of relevant books, 
documents, and records; 
  (3) exclude any irrelevant, immaterial, or unduly repetitious evidence; 
  (4) take notice of facts and of recognized technical or scientific facts within the department’s 
specialized knowledge; 
  (5) hear evidence and admit documentary evidence from the parties. The department may 
introduce into evidence copies of government records needed to establish the existence of certain facts which could 
result in denial, suspension, or revocation of a license or permit, including but not limited to records regarding 
convictions, judgments regarding mental competency or chemical dependency, or other matters that may be 
established by government records; 
  (6) call and examine the respondent or other witnesses; and 
  (7) utilize the department's experience, technical competence, and specialized knowledge in 
evaluating the evidence. 
 G. Testimony.  Testimony at the hearing shall be taken under oath. 
 H. Exhibits.  Exhibits from the respondent shall be submitted to the department at least 48 hours 
before the hearing. 
 I. Entry of appearance and substitutions of counsel.  Counsel who will represent a respondent at 
the hearing shall submit an entry of appearance to the department 24 hours before the hearing. Withdrawal or 
substitution of counsel shall be by notice to the department, and all issues relating to withdrawal or substitution of 
counsel shall be resolved in a form and manner at the discretion of the hearing examiner. 
 J. Communications with the department.  Communications by respondents represented by an 
attorney with the department shall be made through respondent’s attorney or a person appearing pro se during and 
following the hearing, unless otherwise provided for by the hearing examiner. For respondents represented by an 
attorney during and after the hearing: 
  (1) routine procedural questions may be addressed to the department by respondents directly; 
and 
  (2) other questions must be made by respondent’s attorney unless the respondent signs a 
waiver, or their attorney sends the department written communication authorizing the respondent to communicate 
directly with the department. 

[H.] K. Record of hearing.  The hearing shall be recorded at the department’s expense. No recording 
devices other than the official hearing recording device shall be allowed. In addition, the department shall make a 
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written record of: 
  (1) the nature of the proceedings including copies of the affidavit or other documents of 
grounds for the notification of denial, suspension, or revocation, and the notice of hearing; 
  (2) the place, date, and time of the hearing and all continuances or recesses of the hearing; 
  (3) the appearance or nonappearance of the respondent; 
  (4) if the respondent appears with an attorney, the name and address of the attorney; 
  (5) all evidence and testimony and a copy of all exhibits introduced into evidence; 
  (6) the findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommended decision of the hearing 
examiner; and 
  (7) the decision of the secretary. 
 [I.] L. Rights of applicant, instructor applicant, approved instructor, or licensee.  The respondent 
has the right to: 
  (1) attend the hearing; 
  (2) enter evidence into the record, but only in open hearing; 
  (3) a single request to recuse a hearing examiner for cause; 
  (4) be assisted or represented by an attorney at his or her own expense; and 
  (5) call, examine and cross-examine witnesses. 
 [J.] M. Stipulation.  The respondent, or respondent’s attorney in respondent’s absence, shall stipulate in 
writing on a form prescribed by the department that the hearing examiner shall be released from civil liability for all 
communications, findings, opinions, and conclusions made in the course and scope of the hearing.  Failure to [so] 
stipulate shall result in termination of the hearing and [continuation] finalization of the notification issued by the 
department.  A finalized notice is not considered a final order for purposes of an appeal in Subsection P of 10.8.2.27 
NMAC by the filing of a petition for a writ of certiorari, pursuant to Rule 1-075 NMRA. 
 [K.] N.  Deliberation.  At the close of the hearing, the hearing examiner shall review and consider the 
entire record, prepare findings of fact, conclusions of law, and a recommended decision, and submit them to the 
secretary within 20 days after the close of the hearing.  The hearing examiner shall make a finding on each ground 
for denial, suspension, or revocation alleged.  The recommended decision shall be based upon substantial, 
competent, and relevant evidence and testimony appearing in the record of hearing. 
 [L.] O. Final order.  Within 20 days of receipt of the recommended decision, the secretary shall review 
the record of the hearing and issue a final order affirming the denial of an application for, or suspension or 
revocation of, a license or permit or reversing the denial, suspension, or revocation and authorizing issuance or 
reinstatement of a license or permit.  The department shall mail a copy of the final order to the respondent.  The final 
order shall be based upon substantial, competent, and relevant evidence and testimony appearing in the record of 
hearing. 
 [M.] P. Appeals.  A respondent adversely affected by a final order of the department may file a petition 
for a writ of certiorari, pursuant to Rule 1-075 NMRA, in the district court in the county where the respondent 
resides within 30 days of the date the final order was postmarked.  The appellant shall bear the costs of the appeal. 
[10.8.2.27 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.26 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.30 CURRENT  [LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS]  PEACE OFFICERS OR MOUNTED 
PATROL OFFICERS: 
 A. Any current [law enforcement officer] peace officer residing in New Mexico shall be allowed to 
obtain a five-year concealed handgun carry license by submitting: 
  (1) all forms as required in 10.8.2.11 NMAC;  
  (2) a letter from his or her agency head verifying that the applicant is employed in good 
standing and is qualified under Section 29-19-4 NMSA 1978; 
  (3) a copy of his or her law enforcement certification[ and number]; and 
  (4) a copy of his or her latest firearms qualification score with category and caliber 
designated, signed and dated by the authorized firearms instructor conducting the course. 
 B. An application may be denied if: 
  (1) the head of the law enforcement agency employing the officer requests in writing that a 
license not be issued and supplies sufficient information to enable the department to determine if the denial should 
be granted; or 
  (2) if the applicant has pending criminal charges or serious administrative allegations 
involving his or her conduct as a [law enforcement officer] peace officer. 
 C. The agency and applicant will be notified in writing of the department’s decision. If denied, the 
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applicant may follow the process contained in 10.8.2.27 NMAC. 
 D. The applicant’s agency will be notified of any disqualifying information that may become known 
during the background check. 
 E. A license issued under this section [may] shall not be used and must be turned in to the 
department’s concealed carry unit, [when] immediately upon the officer [is] no longer being employed by a law 
enforcement agency. 
[10.8.2.30 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.30 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.31 RETIRED [LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS] PEACE OFFICERS:  Any retired [law 
enforcement officer] peace officer shall be allowed to obtain a five-year concealed handgun carry license if the 
retired [law enforcement officer] peace officer: 
 A. has submitted all forms as required in these rules, including 10.6.2.12 NMAC; 
 B. is a resident of the state of New Mexico;  
 C. has retired from a law enforcement agency after a minimum of 15 years employment, unless the 
retirement was due to a job related disability; 
 D. has submitted a letter from the agency verifying employment if the 15 years is with more than one 
agency; 
 E. has submitted a letter from the agency verifying employment he or she retired from which 
indicates he or she retired in good standing with the effective date of retirement; 
 F. has submitted a copy of his or her last firearms qualification scores indicating category and caliber 
designation, dated and signed by the department’s firearms instructor; 
 G. has taken a firearms course in accordance with the act if the officer has been retired longer than 
ten years at the time of application; 
 H. has submitted a copy of his or her law enforcement certification[ and number]; and 
 I. has qualified and adheres to the provisions of the act and these rules. 
[10.8.2.31 NMAC - Rp, 10.8.2.31 NMAC, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 
10.8.2.32 MILITARY SERVICE PERSONS: 
 A. Eligibility.  [Any] Active military service persons or honorably discharged veterans, shall be 
allowed to obtain a five-year concealed handgun carry license under the following requirements: 
 [A.]  (1) by submitting all forms as required in these rules, including 10.8.2.12 NMAC; and 
 [B.]  (2) documentation satisfactory to the department that the applicant is a military service 
person; or 
 [C.]  (3) documentation satisfactory to the department that the applicant was a prior military 
service person honorably discharged.  Military service persons beyond 20 years of military separation are required to 
complete a two-year four-hour renewal firearms training course, two years (22 to 26 months) after their five-year 
license issue date. 
 B. Dependents.  For military service persons seeking a concealed carry handgun license: 
  (1) out of state military dependents are eligible to apply for a New Mexico concealed carry 
permit, with an out of state driver license, when the dependent’s name is listed on the active-duty service members 
orders which indicate the duty station of the service member in New Mexico; and, 
  (2) dependents listed on military orders must pay the application fee and complete the 
required training course and will receive a four-year, civilian license. 
[10.8.2.31 NMAC - N, 11/30/2016, A, XX/XX/2025] 
 


