FOLLOW THE CHECKLIST BELOW FOR YOUR APPROPRIATE CATEGORY BEFORE

SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION TO THE DEPARTMENT
INCOMPLETE APPLICATI ILL NOT BE ACCEPTED

Documents needed for Civilian

(New/ Initial Application)

O

Ooo0o0oo0oooao

2-Page Application

Authorization to Obtain Health Information complete with WITNESS SIGNATURE (anyone over the age of 18)
Authorization for Release of Information complete withNOTARY

Copy of valid New Mexico Driver’s License or Identification Card

Copy of Birth Certificate or other required legal documents (not required if NMDL is a Real ID)

Training Certificate w/ DPS-Approved Instructor

Gemalto Fingerprint Receipt (ORI NM920200Z $44)

$56 fee made payable to NMDPS CCU

(Renewal Application)

O o oo

2-Page Application

Copy of valid New Mexico Driver’s License or Identification Card
Training Certificate w/ DPS-Approved Instructor

$75 fee made payable to NMDPS CCU

Documents needed for Active Military

(New/ Initial Application)

o 2-Page Application
0 Authorization to Obtain Health Information complete with WITNESS SIGNATURE (anyone over the age of 18)
O Authorization for Release of Information complete with NOTARY
o Photocopy of valid Driver’s License or Identification Card
o One (1) passport photo if your Driver’s License is not issued in New Mexico
o Copy of Birth Certificate or other required legal documents (not required if NMDL is a Real ID)
o Copy of Military ID and PCS (Permanent Change of Station) Orders
o Gemalto Fingerprint Receipt (ORI NM920272Z $12.00)
(Renewal Application)
o 2-Page Application
o Photocopy of valid Driver’s License or Identification Card
o Copy of Military ID or PCS (Permanent Change of Station) Orders

Documents needed for Retired Military/ Military Veteran

(New/ Initial Application)

O

Ooo0o0Ooao

o o

2-Page Application
Authorization to Obtain Health Information complete with WITNESS SIGNATURE (anyone over the age of 18)
Authorization for Release of Information complete with NOTARY
Copy of valid Driver’s License or Identification Card
Copy of Birth Certificate or other required legal documents (not required if NMDL is a Real ID)
DD-214 with character of discharge (must have Honorable Discharge)
Other acceptable forms: Letter from the VA stating honorable discharge or retirement card
Training Certificate w/ DPS-Approved Instructor *if outside of 20 years of separation
Gemalto Fingerprint Receipt (ORI NM920272Z $12.00)

(Renewal Application)

O
O
O
O

2-Page Application

Copy of valid Driver’s License or Identification Card

DD-214 with character of discharge (must have Honorable Discharge)

Training Certificate w/ DPS-Approved Instructor *if outside of 20 years of separation



Documents needed for Active Law Enforcement Officer

(New/ Initial Application)
o 2-Page Application

Authorization for Release of Information complete with NOTARY

Photocopy of Birth Certificate or other required legal documents
Agency ID

Certification Number

Letter of Good Standing

Copy of last qualification

Gemalto Fingerprint Receipt (ORI NM920272Z $12.00)

Oo0o0o0Oooooag

(Renewal Application)

2-Page Application

Photocopy of valid Driver’s License or Identification Card
Agency ID

Certification Number

Letter of Good Standing

Copy of last qualification

Oo0o0oooadg

Authorization to Obtain Health Information complete with WITNESS SIGNATURE (anyone over the age of 18)

Photocopy of valid Driver’s License or Identification Card (not required if NMDL is a Real ID)

Documents needed for Retired Law Enforcement Officer
(New/ Initial Application) (must have completed a minimum of 15 years as LEO or retired due to job related disability)

o 2-Page Application
Authorization for Release of Information complete with NOTARY

Copy of Birth Certificate or other required legal documents
Letter of Good Standing with Agency ID and Certification Number

O0oooogaoad

Gemalto Fingerprint Receipt (ORI NM920272Z $12.00)

Authorization to Obtain Health Information complete with WITNESS SIGNATURE (anyone over the age of 18)

Copy of valid Driver’s License or Identification Card (not required if NMDL is a Real ID)

Copy of last qualification or Training Certificate w/ DPS-Approved Instructor *if outside of 10 years of retirement

(Renewal Application) (must have completed a minimum of 15 years as LEO or retired due to job related disability)

2-Page Application

Copy of valid Driver’s License or Identification Card
Agency ID

Certification Number

Letter of Good Standing

Oo0oo0oooag

Copy of last qualification or Training Certificate w/ DPS-Approved Instructor *if outside of 10 years of retirement

Documents needed for Instructor
2-Page Application

Authorization for Release of Information complete with NOTARY
Copy of Birth Certificate or other required legal documents

Current Instructor Liability Insurance

Current Instructor Credentials (NRA, USCCA, DPS LEA, etc...)
Resume of firearms instructing experience

Curriculum and all course materials - Must include:

Fee Schedule NMAC 10.8.2.24(A)(6)

OO0o0o0Ooooooaog

o Fees

o Incidental Costs

o Charges for Course

o Policies for passing and failing
o Refund policy

o Reschedule policy

o Attendance requirements

Terms and conditions of License NMAC
10.8.2.16

Reciprocity NMAC 10.8.2.29

Application Qualification and Process
o Cost

o Forms needed

o Fingerprinting

o Qualifications and Disqualifiers

O Appeals

O 2year refresher

o Renewal timelines

Explanations of hands on demonstrations, if
any.

Authorization to Obtain Health Information complete with WITNESS SIGNATURE (anyone over the age of 18)
Copy of valid New Mexico Driver’s License or Identification Card (not required if NMDL is a Real ID)

Gemalto Fingerprint Receipt (ORI NM920200Z $44 civilian; NM920272Z $12.00 Military/LEO)

[NMSA 1978 29-19-7 § (2003)]

o Safe handling of single- and double-action
revolvers and semi-automatic handguns

o Safe storage of handguns and child safety;

o Safe handgun shooting fundamentals;

o Identification of ways to develop and maintain
handgun shooting skills;

0 Federal, state and local criminal and civil laws
pertaining to the purchase, ownership,
transportation, use and possession of handguns;
0 Techniques for avoiding a criminal attack and
how to control a violent confrontation;

g Techniques for non-violent dispute resolution




Application Instructions

For a complete outline of eligibility requirements, refer to the New Mexico Concealed Handgun
Carry Act of 2003 (as amended in 2005, 2010, 2015, and 2016) Section 29-1-1 through 14, NMSA
1978 and NMAC 10.8.2 included in this packet. Personal check, cashier’s check, or money order
should be made payable to New Mexico Department of Public Safety (NMDPS CCU). Credit/Debit

cards are also accepted in person at our office in Albuquerque.

Applications may be mailed to:
NMDPS Concealed Carry Unit
6301 Indian School Rd NE Suite 310
Albuquerque, NM 87110

Incomplete applications will not be processed.
Be sure to sign and date all appropriate locations
and provide a witness and notary signature where required.

Your fee will be deposited, and you must meet the guidelines set forth in NMAC 10.8.2.11(C)
Fees are non-refundable NMSA 29-19-5(B)(2)

Fingerprinting Procedures for Concealed Carry License
O Register at www.aps.gemalto.com/nm/index NM.htm
o Click on Register Online for Background Check
o0 Enter all information in highlighted areas
o ORI information is as follows:
NM920200Z for civilian $44.00
NM920272Z. for military or law enforcement $12.00
O Pay either by credit card or money order
o0 Print out receipt (as you will need to turn this into the department)
o Take receipt with you when you get digitally fingerprinted
(locations available at www.aps.gemalto.com/nm/Maps/MapFrame.htm)
0 Fingerprint location will provide a TCN Number after you are fingerprinted

If the fingerprints are not accepted by the FBI for comparison purposes, processing of your
applications may be significantly delayed, and you may be required to submit another set. You may
request to have original documents returned to you by submitting this request along with a
self-addressed, stamped envelope.

Additional information and updates pertaining to NM Concealed Carry are available on the NMDPS
website: http://www.dps.nm.gov.

Check this website periodically for new and updated forms and information on recognition and
reciprocity.



New Mexico Department of Public Safety

CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE / CONCEALED CARRY HANDGUN INSTRUCTOR
APPROVAL APPLICATION

Read “APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS” prior to completing this application.
TYPE or PRINT LEGIBLY IN INK.
Your application WILL NOT be processed unless/until all applicable questions have been answered on page 2 and all
required documents have been submitted.
Be sure to include: Gemalto fingerprint receipt, authorization to obtain health information form, authorization
for release of information form, a current certificate of firearms training, a photocopy of your New Mexico Driver’s
License or Identification Card, a photocopy of your birth certificate or naturalization certificate (not required if the
Driver’s License is a Real ID), and payment in the form of personal check, cashier’s check, money order, or credit
card for the appropriate amount.

FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE

|:| New License Application I:l Renewal Application (Expiration Date ) Instructor:D New |:| Renewal
Law Enforcement: |:| Current |:| Mounted Patrol I:l Retired (Retirement Date )
Non-Civilian Licenses
Military: |:| Active D Veteran (Separation Date )
Last Name: First Name: Middle Name: County of Residency:
Social Security Number: Fingerprint TCN #: (New Applicants Only) | NM Driver’s License or I.D Number: | NMDL Issue Date:
Date of Birth: (mm-dd-yyyy)| Sex: Height: Weight: Eye Color: Hair Color: Race:
v e L x
City of Birth: State of Birth: Country of Birth other than USA:
Mailing Address: City: State: Zip Code:
Physical Address (if different than above): City: State: Zip Code:
How long have your lived at the above address? Home Phone Number: Business Phone Number:
Years Months

Email Address:

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY:

Form of Payment: [] Money Order [] Cashier’s Check [] Personal Check # [] Credit Card

Applicant Name

The Department of Public Safety acknowledges that on the sum of $ was received by:
Signature of employee accepting application Printed name of employee accepting application

Page 1



ALL APPLICANTS PLEASE READ QUESTIONS THOROUGHLY AND ANSWER QUESTIONS BY CHECKING “YES” or “NO”.

YES

1. Are you a citizen of the United States?

2. Are you a resident of New Mexico OR a member of the armed forces whose permanent duty station is located in New
Mexico or a dependent of such a member?

3. Are you 21 years of age or older?

4. Have you satisfactorily completed a DPS-Approved Firearms Safety Training Program or Renewal Training Program?

5. Have you been convicted of a felony in New Mexico or any other state or pursuant to the laws of the United States or
any other state or pursuant to the laws of the United States or any other jurisdiction?

6. Are you currently under indictment for a felony criminal offense in New Mexico or any other state or pursuant to the
laws of the United States or any other jurisdiction?

7. Are you otherwise prohibited by federal law or the law of any other jurisdiction from purchasing or possessing a
firearm?

8. Have you been adjudicated incompetent or committed to a mental institution?

9. Are you an unlawful user of, or addicted to, any controlled substances and/or alcohol?

10. Have you received a conditional discharge, a diversion or a deferment, or been convicted of, pled guilty to, or entered
a plea of nolo contender to a misdemeanor offense involving a crime of violence within the last 10 years?

11. Have you, within five years immediately preceding this application, been convicted of a misdemeanor offense
involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs?

12. Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving the possession or abuse of a controlled substance within
the last 10 years immediately preceding this application?

13. Have you been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving assault, battery, or battery against a household member?

14. Since the age of 18, have you been arrested for any reason?

15. Are you a fugitive from justice?

16. Are you an alien who is residing in the United States illegally or a former citizen of the United States who has
renounced citizenship?

17. INSTRUCTOR APPLICANTS ONLY Do you meet ALL training instructor criteria required under NMAC
10.8.2.227 (If yes, include all proper documentation).

O|O]0|0O|0]|0|O|0|O|O|0|0O[O|0|0 0|0
O|O|0O|O|O|0]|O0|0|O|0|0|O|0|0|0|0|0F

WARNING: Submission of a false answer to any question or submission of a materially false document will result in the denial
of the application and may result in criminal prosecution for perjury (NMSA 30-25-1). Tampering with public records may result
in criminal prosecution under NMSA 30-26-1.

I HEREBY STATE UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THAT:

I have read the New Mexico Concealed Handgun Carry Act of 2003 and qualify to apply for a concealed handgunlicense;

I have been furnished with a copy of the state laws relating to concealed handguns and have read and understand them;

I want a permit to carry a concealed handgun for lawful purposed, which may include self-defense;

The information in this application and any documents submitted in this application is true, correct, and complete to the best
of my knowledge and belief; and

5. Tunderstand a license eligibility investigation will be conducted as a part of the application process; this may involve, but is
not limited to, computerized record searches/ criminal history searches and I authorize the investigation.

Sl S

Signature of Applicant Printed Name Date
Page 2



NEW MEXICO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
AUTHORIZATION TO OBTAIN HEALTH INFORMATION

This authorization allows the New Mexico Department of Public Safety (DPS) to obtain confidential
health information about you. The authorization may be revoked by you. It will remain in effect
indefinitely solely for purposes of obtaining information regarding your Concealed Handgun Carry Act
application or permit. You are entitled to a copy of the completed authorization. There may be fees
charged for any copying associated with this request. If you are a person with a disability and you require
this authorization in an alternative format or require a special accommodation to complete this form, you
may request assistance from staff at any DPS location.

Applicant Name Printed (First, Middle, Last)

L. I authorize the Department of Public Safety to obtain health information as described below.

2. I understand that any information disclosed by any provider of any kind may include
information about behavioral or mental health services, and treatment for alcohol or
dmg/substance abuse and information obtained by the New Mexico Department of Public
Safety from any other provider specifically related to the statutory purposes set out in the
Concealed Handgun Carry Act at Section 29-19-1 to 29-19-13, NMSA 1978.

3. This authorization applies to any health information from any provider or any source relating
to the stated purposes.

4, The health information will specifically be related to (a) adjudication of mental incompetence
or any commitment to a mental institution; (b) any addiction to alcohol or controlled
substances.

5. This health information shall be utilized in order to assess compliance with the purposes of

the Concealed Handgun Carry Act.

STATEMENT OF UNDERSTANDING:

I understand that I have a right to revoke this authorization at any time. I understand that if I revoke this
authorization, I must do so in writing to the New Mexico Department of Public Safety. I understand that
the revocation will not apply to information that has already been obtained pursuant to this authorization.
I understand that unless I revoke this authorization as stated above, this authorization will continue in full
force and effect. [ understand that authorizing the disclosure of this health information is voluntary. I
further understand that revoking this authorization may have consequences regarding my application for a
concealed handgun carry permit, or my ability to continue carrying a concealed handgun if | have already
been issued a concealed handgun carry permit.

Signature of Applicant Date

Signature of Witness Date




AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION

NAME (MUST BE PRINTED-LEGIBLY) (SSN#) (DOB)
Alias' Name: SSN: DOB:
Name: SSN: DOB:

Department of Public Safety - Concealed Carry Unit
NAME OF AGENCY OR PERSON RECEIVING ARREST RECORD

ADDRESS: 6301 Indian School Rd. NE Suite 310, Albuquerque, NM 87110

AS AN AUTHORIZED AGENT FOR ME FOR THE PURPOSE OF INSPECTING (AND /OR
OBTAINING COPIES OF) ANY NEW MEXICO ARREST FINGERPRINT CARD SUPPORTED
ARREST RECORD INFORMATION MAINTAINED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY,
INCLUDING INFORMATION CONCERNING FELONY OR MISDEMEANOR ARRESTS AND
INFORMATION OBTAINED FROM RELEVANT FINGERPRINT DATABASES.

TO THE CUSTODIAN OF THE RECORDS IN QUESTION, I HEREBY DIRECT YOU TO RELEASE
SUCH INFORMATION TO THE AUTHORIZED AGENT AS DESCRIBED ABOVE.

I HEREBY RELEASE THE CUSTODIAN OR CUSTODIANS OF SUCH RECORDS AND THE
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY, INCLUDING ANY OF THEIR AGENTS, EMPLOYEES, OR
REPRESENTATIVES IN ANY CAPACITY, FROM ANY AND ALL CLAIMS OF LIABILITY OR
DAMAGE OF WHATEVER KIND OR NATURE, WHICH AT ANY TIME COULD RESULT TO ME,
MY HEIRS, ASSIGNS, ASSOCIATES, PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE OR REPRESENTATIVES
OF ANY NATURE BECAUSE OF COMPLIANCE BY SAID CUSTODIAN OR CUSTODIANS WITH
THIS "AUTHORIZATION FOR RELEASE OF INFORMATION" AND MY REQUEST CONTAINED
HEREIN FOR THIS RELEASE OR BECAUSE OF ANY USE OF THESE RECORDS. THIS
RELEASE IS BINDING, NOW AND IN THE FUTURE AND IS VALID FOR A PERIOD OF UP TO
120 DAYS FROM THE DATE SIGNED, ON MY HEIRS, ASSIGNS, ASSOCIATES, PERSONAL
REPRESENTATIVE OR REPRESENTATIVES OF ANY NATURE.

APPLICANT SIGNATURE:

DATE:
SIGNED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME ON THIS Day Of 20

State of County of

For Department of Public Safety Use Only

(SEAL)

(SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC)

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES:






